Faulty Assumptions

My husband, dad and I worked at the same company pre-stroke. Although I haven’t seen or spoken to most of my co-workers/management since before my stroke, commentary is given to my husband occasionally. My former management never contacted me one time after my stroke.

After seeking some advice in a support group, one lady said something that makes sense:

I noticed that dealing with former coworkers and acquaintances after my stroke was a lot like dealing with them after a major death in the family. They want to say SOMETHING, but it usually comes out wrong and awkward. Only worse because everyone has dealt with death. So they say stuff that gets really aggravating. I found i had to detach until i got that people are sometimes mean well but are unable to understand this. I had one tell me ” i hope you feel better” and another tell me how nice it must be to not have to work. They just don’t get it. They can’t. Try to forgive them for that.

Before I was terminated, people  told my husband that I would be taking a “vacation”.  In my experience, being on disability is way more WORK than working a full-time job. Every night, I do my self-therapy with the goal of getting my life back. My husband helps me with my exercises too. I only WISH that my only responsibility was working full-time and/or raising a family. These people have it easy…

Based on feedback I receive from my husband, people make comments about my condition even though they haven’t seen me in years. These people have “no idea” about my life or my condition. They CAN’T. It’s against HIPAA.

It has been my choice to focus on my recovery and meet new people. People that know NOTHING about me.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Faulty Assumptions

  1. My Miracle Life February 16, 2017 / 6:11 pm

    I miss you!! I’ve clicked on the link I have for you on my blog but it no longer shows up! I found you by accident in my reader. I’ll have to check my link again and change it. First I have to catch up with what’s been going on with you. Xoxoxo Eva

    • My Stroke Life February 16, 2017 / 7:38 pm

      Miss you, Eva! I’m a busy girl! I still attend speech therapy. I keep kicking this stroke’s ass. I attend counseling to build up my confidence. Outside therapy, I help at a horse rescue one day a week. In addition, I’m about to start attending a place called BIND which is a brain injury clubhouse which helps survivors build vocational skills, increase self-esteem, and develop confidence in their ability to contribute productively. About 10 months ago, my grandma had a massive stroke so I go see her every other week. My grandma helped take me to appointments when I had my stroke and even bought my car to help us financially.

      • My Miracle Life February 17, 2017 / 7:44 pm

        I’m so sorry to hear about your grandma, but am ecstatic that you’ve been so busy and pro-active. I have to start physical therapy again, and I’ll update soon with some other stuff that’s going on. Love you to pieces!!

  2. forwardmovingsite August 16, 2017 / 4:09 pm

    hi Megan, thank you so much for sharing your story .I too am dealing with the aftermath of a CVA. I was a little bit older than you – i was 49, but it interrupted busy and fulfilling roles professionally and within my family. my on and off recovery over the last 15 months has been complicated by MS so it has not been a steady progression and has been particularly hard on my wife and our now 10 year old son. . My stroke affected a very different part of my brain than yours. My speech was a little slurred but recovered quickly. mostly my left arm and leg have been effected. I am able to bring my left leg forward to walk with a cane but can not kneel or get on and off the ground by myself and fall more often than I would like. i have no use at all of my left arm. in my case your rehab people would have been correct, i have not experienced much neurological return other than the first 6 months or so following the stroke. although I know that I have learned to do more with what I do have and am more functional. I had to resign my position as a pastor shortly after the stroke and i am just now feeling like maybe I could work part- time. depression has been a struggle for me.please feel free to follow my blog – forwardmovingsite.wordpress.com G od bless you and your family and Be well.

Leave a Reply

