2017

Pre-stroke, I was good at everything I put my mind to including academics and sports. I graduated salutatorian in high school with a class full of high achievers including future doctors. I was good at sports. In college, I graduated with a 4.0 GPA. In terms of my career, I got multiple awards; I helped multiple departments for my employer: Software Engineering and IT. All these achievements were flushed down the drain once I had my stroke.

High School:

school

College graduated summa cum laude:

gfaye

Career Awards:

awards

Being on disability is a huge adjustment for me at 3 yrs post-stroke “still”. It feels like a heavy burden on my shoulders.

I have a few things lined up to help ease the “loneliness” for 2017 that I’m excited about.

In terms of resolutions, I don’t have any besides what I’ve been doing the past 3 yrs. My progress continues and I’m still fighting to get my life back.

I hope for positive health for my entire family.

3 thoughts on “2017

  1. Jo Murphey January 2, 2017 / 11:03 am

    Like you I was an over achiever at life BS (before stroke) . There was no challenge or goal left undone. Strokes are an equalizer for folks like us. I look at my disability checks not as a burden, but something I earned to tide me over until I beat this challenge too. Everything in life is temporary and an adjustment.

  2. Tammy Hairston January 2, 2017 / 1:41 pm

    I can’t imagine the frustration this has all caused you. That being said, I know that you are one of those unique people that has the ability to spit in the stroke’s eye and push, not only to get back what you lost , but to far exceeded what you had before. That’s who you are. I will say it again, you amaze me! I’m so proud to call you my cousin. I keep you in my prayers and always will. I love you.

  3. forwardmovingsite August 16, 2017 / 4:23 pm

    hi Megan I can completely resonate with you. the idea of being on disability at the age of 50and 51, only 6 years after being ordained as a a pastor as a second career was NOT what i had in mind. I was the type who was never going to retire after all at the age of 44, I felt i had waited my whole life to do this work

Leave a Reply

