Frustrated…

I’ve been feeling a little frustrated (yet slightly hopeful). I’m frustrated that nothing has came out of my hard work in my recovery. I’ve worked so hard on my recovery starting in ICU till now at 2 years, 10 months, 23 days post-stroke.

When I started acute rehab, I had a calendar that I would use to mark off the days until I returned to work. I would mark an “X” on each day. Eventually, I stopped keeping that calendar when I realized that goal wasn’t going to happen.

I believed that if I worked hard enough I would get my life back. I worked non-stop. Even when I was walking on the treadmill in rehab, I would multi-task and work on my iPad as well. Hard work always paid off for me in the past. I maintained a 4.0 GPA in college while working-part time amongst other items on my agenda.

I’m frustrated that I had to find out answers on our own about solutions that would make me more independent: hearing aids and streamer. I’m also frustrated about the time lost finding these solutions.

I get frustrated when people point out how much work I have left when I’ve devoted so much work and money to my recovery. Lots of blood, sweat, money and tears have been poured…

 

4 thoughts on “Frustrated…

  1. I know a little about how hard you have worked, and pushed yourself to the limit trying to achieve goals as quickly as possible. I truly cannot imagine your frustration. It is a shame for you (and others) that you have to seek out so many of the answers for yourself. I don’t understand why the medical professionals are not more coordinated, informative & overall helpful to get you back to normal. However, you have made great strides in that direction. Hang on, keep working & praying. God bless.

  2. The hearing aid issue came up a couple of years ago. Luckily, we crossed that hurdle. Right now, I have a few medical professionals working with me to help me get back to “normal”. Have I experienced negativity about all I have to achieve to get there? Yes…It’s very frustrating…My counselor is working to make me more hopeful…

  3. Megan, I can only imagine your frustration but you have overcame so much. Please don’t give up and keep pushing forward. You have done amazing things. You amaze me over and over again. Keep pushing toward your goal.
    Last week when the doctors congratulated me for beating breast cancer, I was so happy. Then turn around and tell me I have bone cancer. I know frustration but we can’t let it get us down. I will keep on my journey and so will you. I love you and you are always on my mind and in my heart.
    Tammy

Leave a Reply

