Creating Your “New” Normal

Today, I’m 2 years 6 months and 6 days post-stroke.

After going through a stroke, your life will likely take a  drastic change. Many people will tell you to create your “new” normal. What does that mean?

Creating your “new” normal means shifting your life path. It’s all about creating new routines and dealing with the unexpected. It’s all about building a new life and leaving behind everything you’ve always known.

In terms of the emotional effects of a stroke, you’ll likely need some support and guidance to move forward. I’m currently receiving guidance to help me overcome these hurdles  Having these emotions is completely normal. Meditation is a good practice.

As I’ve improved over the course of my stroke, I’ve had to go down multiple paths.  I’ve attended three rehabs. I’m constantly researching rehab avenues to get better; hearing aids, CAPD, exercise, and neurofeedback. We’ve worked with MANY medical professionals and we’ve learned a significant amount of information on our own accord. It’s okay to question medical professionals. Sometimes they are not always correct. Trust your gut.

I’m constantly preparing for the future in rehab. I’m hoping for a better tomorrow with a new career. I hope that children are in our future once things get better financially. This window may be opened through adoption (who knows?); however, I know we would make awesome parents.

2 thoughts on “Creating Your “New” Normal

  1. Megan, sweetie, you have always been a hard worker … somewhat of an over achiever. You have made this trait really work for you (like on steroids). I don’t pretend to know how you feel, but I did watch mama & observed her feelings. She, too, was extremely independent & driven. She, like you, did everything she possibly could to overcome the aftereffects she was left with. She never thought it was good enough … but she was awesome. And so are you … you have good genes, sweetie. Try not to be too hard on yourself, but always seek to improve. I believe there are no limits to what can happen or how far you can go. Love you always, Aunt Barbara

  2. I love you with all my heart and soul. My sweet child has been thorough so much in 2 1/2 years. You have overcome so much more that what the professionals tell you. You have always worked hard at everything you do since you were a little girl. I know someday you and Ricky will make the best parents and a child would be bless to have Ya’ll as parents and I would be bless to be their #Gamie#! Love Mom

Leave a Reply

