Busy December & Neurofeedback

My December is going to be busy! I have many appointments scheduled. In addition, I will have the holidays with family. I love being busy!

Rehabilitation is expensive! Right now, we are paying 100% out of pocket for two speech sessions a week. In 2016, I will get 60 more speech sessions since it resets each calendar year. Unfortunately, I found out that Aenta is refusing to pay for neurofeedback for my anxiety. As a result, we have to pay 100% out of pocket for neurofeedback. All the events encountered during my stroke have caused my anxiety to skyrocket.

What is neurofeedback?

https://www.eeginfo.com/what-is-neurofeedback.jsp

Neurofeedback is direct training of brain function, by which the brain learns to function more efficiently. We observe the brain in action from moment to moment. We show that information back to the person. And we reward the brain for changing its own activity to more appropriate patterns.

It was a big decision to participate in neurofeedback since it’s not cheap. I’ve heard mixed reviews while others say that everyone improves. After much discussion, we have decided to give neurofeedback a shot for 20 sessions. I will go twice a week following my speech sessions.

In neurofeedback, the first step is to get a brain map. They are going to put a cap on my head with multiple sensors to find my problem areas. Gel will be put in the sensors. It will be a bad hair day! I will not be allowed to use any hair product. OMG!

After the brain map is created, I will have two sessions a week. I will watch a movie or video game with sensors on my head. Based on the action I take with my brain, I will receive feedback to help retrain my brain.

Image below is from http://optimal-neurofeedback.com/

neurofeedback

I hope that neurofeedback will help.

At my old rehab, I participated in biofeedback. A therapist attached a sensor to my finger and it monitored my heart rate and breathing. In addition, to help with jaw tension, a sensor was attached to my cheek to help retrain my speech with a speech therapist. Overall, I feel like these therapy tasks were helpful.

In terms of speech therapy, I know that I’m doing the right things with my speech therapists and Ricky. In addition, I’m going to try to participate in video chats via Skype with other stroke survivors.

I’m looking forward to the new Hunger Games movie! I’ve read all the books!

7 thoughts on “Busy December & Neurofeedback

  1. Megan.
    Everything about recovering from a stroke is EXPENSIVE. Have you tried looking for a research study near you? I have found in the past that what insurance won’t cover, they will most times. About the feedback, I’ve found whether neuro or bio most insurances deem as experimental so they won’t pay. Talk with your doctor and/or therapist, it’s a question of wording. If it can be listed as a modality most insurance companies will pay for it. I guarantee you aren’t the first with this issue. It just takes some creativity. Perhaps charging it as an EMG instead of neurofeedback.

    As for me, the end of November and December will bring another round of Botox, another cardiac stress test, a bi-annual check in with my PC, and a check up with my endocrinologist added to my twice weekly therapy appointments. the holidays are squeezed in between. I also have to crowbar in another 4 day trip across the country plus a week with my daughter in AL.

    I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

    • I know it’s expensive. This year has been more expensive for me than last year. My former employer paid for most of my insurance in 2014. I’m looking forward to the new year so I can get some relief from paying for speech sessions.

      In terms of neurofeedback, I received something from Aetna and the counselor put any modality. There’s a Texas law that says that neurofeedback will be covered but it depends on the insurance plan. We both (husband and I) worked for Fortune 500 companies and had the best insurance plans they offered. Still no luck.

      Good luck on your on all your appointment, Jo!

  2. In the past, I was in contact with UTD. I’ve been in contact with their speech department and they do offer speech sessions at a discounted rate. In fact, they wanted me to participate in their speech program in the past. However, I really like the direction that my current speech therapist is taking with my therapy. I know that the UTD option is there if I need it.

Leave a Reply

