Life and It’s Changes..

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary recently. Including our dating years, we’ve been together for 15 years.

anniversary

anniversary1

Over the past two years, we’ve had to adapt to numerous changes. Life has shaken us up and twisted us all around. To be honest, there have been times when I didn’t think we were going to cross all the barriers.

I’ve attended three rehabs and worked with numerous therapists. Over the course of my recovery, mistakes were made by medical professionals. Of course, I would have a rare symptom of a stroke (audiological processing and minor loss of hearing).

Financially, we’ve had to face numerous obstacles including living life on disability. No longer are we going to start a family. On top of this transition, multiple fraudulent charges were made in my name by two girls in Clayton County in Georgia. Luckily, I checked my credit today and most of the fraudulent charges have been cleared. One of the thieves is still pleading “not guilty”.

Justice still hasn’t been served. I can’t describe the horror of clearing off fraudulent charges on your credit. Probably the easiest company to deal with has been Capital One or Chase. Macy’s and Kohl’s gave me extreme hell.

Based on recommendations of my neurologist, I’ve added a PM&R doctor to my lists of medical contacts. Luckily, he’s one of the nicest doctors I’ve worked with. He wrote a prescription for a new therapy: neurofeedback.

Soon, Ricky will be transitioning to a different work shift. He will be working 12-hour shifts on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Luckily, I’m independent after my stroke and I don’t need assistance. However, I worry that he will get exhausted working these hours.

Not knowing what the future is going to hold for us is stressful. All I can do is continue to push forward. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Life and It’s Changes..

  1. Jo Murphey October 19, 2015 / 11:47 am

    Yes, changes are disruptive. Adaptation is living your life. If you seriously think about it, you were adapting to constant changes before your stroke. Why should now be any different (except for your limitations).

    Congrats on your 9th, I just “celebrated” our 25th with my hubby in heaven.

    • StrokeFighter October 19, 2015 / 4:23 pm

      True! However, we were financially secure before my stroke. Now, we’re not. We were both contributing to 401k and I had a pension. Now, we’re making just making ends meet. Also, I had a great job as a Sr. Software II. Now, I work to build things up again.

      • Jo Murphey October 19, 2015 / 9:51 pm

        We all had security and careers before our strokes. I was a minister and author. We had a tidy nest eggs and pension plans. Funny thing happened on our retirement ten years away. My hubby was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and then seven years before my retirement I had a stroke…then another. I lost my husband three months ago, the nest eggs are gone to pay for his desperate attempt to stay with me and my stroke. We worked hard for our comfortable retirement also and were so close to reaching and now nothing is left.

        Things happen in life that we can’t control and is not our fault. All we can do is pray for the best and survive. For one so young, you’ve hit this time and are still fighting. WTG keep it up. A lot can be said for making ends meet. It’s when you hit the borrowing from Peter to pay Paul each month for decades, You prize the months you can make ends meet.

        We all lament what could have been and what should have been, but life throws us curve balls that test the spirit and stress the soul. Fortunately, in hindsight we see that these monumental road block mountain we just speed bumps in the long roads of our lives. Keep the spirit of hope alive.

        I hate typing with one hand, but it’s better than none. lol

      • StrokeFighter October 19, 2015 / 10:18 pm

        Unfortunately, it’s not in my nature to quit. My old speech therapist told me that I’m very ‘”type A”. Even when people tried to break me, I found away to continue. I know we can’t control people or situations but I sure won’t quit trying to make things better.

  2. StrokeFighter October 19, 2015 / 4:26 pm

    However, I worked all the time. To be honest, I liked bringing the money in. We were building a future.

    • Jo Murphey October 19, 2015 / 10:30 pm

      A woman after my own heart :o) I’m the same way After a helicopter crash left me with a crushed lower spine, they told me I’d never walk again. I was about your age back then, my response was watch me. It took four agonizing years, but I walked on my own two legs again. Two years ago, they told me I’d recovered my arm to the greatest extent possible. Again it was watch me. Last month I was able to move my index finger and thumb on command. Will I quit? Nope! I’m too stubborn for that. Do I feel like giving up? Sometimes, but then I talk myself out of it.

      • StrokeFighter October 20, 2015 / 6:48 am

        Jo, awesome! Keep it up!

  3. StrokeFighter October 19, 2015 / 4:36 pm

    *Sr. Software Engineer – I hate typing on my iPad. LOL

  4. Miss Joie October 20, 2015 / 7:12 am

    i am very happy for you and you inspire me so much! you are right we have to keep going!!!! there’s a lot more to life even after a bad experience

    • StrokeFighter October 20, 2015 / 5:51 pm

      Hi, Miss Joie! I enjoy reading your blog posts.

  5. intheblinkofaneye2014 October 22, 2015 / 6:29 am

    I liked your blog too
    Thanks for liking mine
    I don’t see a like box to like yours ?

    Changes are so hard after a stroke
    My wife left me for a60 year old sugar daddy
    So I had the changes with the pain too
    Trying to work and running life alone took a lot of getting used to
    We were together for 15 years
    I have dealt with cancer too
    Taking 2 years of my life away
    May be you’ll read my story some day
    But yes change is real hard
    So glad you have a good bloke
    You’ll be bringing in the cash too soon
    The important thing is to keep doing things together
    Find time aswell for each other to keep the love
    My mistake was focusing on me to much and not my wife
    So I lost her
    Got to go now
    But good luck with your future
    Petercoghlan.com

Leave a Reply

