Still Plugging Away

Recovery

I’m still plugging away on recovering. At home, when I’m not working with Ricky, I’ve been working on my left ear hearing/processing. I’m trying to learn how to play the keyboard. I’ve never had any music training but I can play a few simple songs. When I was working, I would get comments on my rapid typing speed. Luckily, that skill wasn’t lost. I could always type even in the beginning of my stroke. It was heavily embedded in my procedural memory.

Today, my speech therapist told me that I keep meeting goals. I can’t take all the credit. Ricky consistently helps me even when he’s tired. A few weeks ago, he was sick and it showed up in my therapy results. I met 3 goals this week.

Future

We are doing all this work so I can join the workforce again. When I was in the hospital, Ricky answered a call on my phone from a recruiter. Ricky told them that I had a stroke. Kindly, the recruiter told Ricky that I should contact him after I get better. He wouldn’t hold my stroke against me. I still get emails from recruiters.

When I withdrew money from my 401k, I set aside some money to take a trip. I’m hoping to go to Hawaii but we will see. I’m ready to go to a beach. We would have taken a trip a long time ago but we were stressed about the fraud. We need a vacation. I’m thinking sometime this year.

Fraud

In the arraignment at court, one girl plead guilty. She got 5 years probation; one year probation for each card opened up in my name. However, I found out about 2 more accounts in my name since the arraignment which brings the total to 7 accounts. One from Verizon ($4000) and one from AT&T ($3500). How do you run up this amount on a phone? I have no idea. I’m assuming she will get 7 years probation once everything is finalized.

The other girl plead “not guilty”. I had no doubt this would happen. She is a thief. She has until June 1 to change her mind to plead guilty. If she doesn’t change her mind, it will go to trial.

I’m a little disappointed that they weren’t thrown in jail. This has been a nightmare. It doesn’t help that the credit bureaus make it difficult to talk to a live human.

New Vehicle

I’m still loving my new Rav4. The only feature that I miss on my Corolla was the gas mileage. It got 41 mpg on the highway. However, my Rav4 has an Eco mode which helps.

Testimony

Over the past few months, we’ve had a few people mention that we need to give a testimony about our journey. The past 20 months have been pure hell. We will give our testimony but I’m not sure when.Β  I’m not sure what platform we will use.Β  We’ve dealt with many rotten, horrible people along this road. However, we’ve also met a few good ones.

 

4 thoughts on “Still Plugging Away

  1. Tammy Hairston May 14, 2015 / 12:01 pm

    I am so happy that you are meeting so many goals! πŸ‘
    That is such great news. Love that you are learning the keyboard. I think it could be a great stress reliever once you learn it well. But I have to say I am terribly pissed that thief is only getting probation!!! Ugh! This is why they keep doing it. They can basically get a slap on the hand. They should go to jail. Unfortunately the justice system never asks me for my opinion. If they did those two would have hell to pay! Keep plugging away. YOU ARE AWESOME!!! Love you and Ricky.

    Tammy

  2. My Miracle Life May 24, 2015 / 11:17 pm

    Way to go on your goals, Megan! I’m so proud of you. We’re both fighters and we’re ROCK STARS baby!! πŸ™‚ I’m angry for you and your family at the fraud committed against you. I had something similar happen, only difference was it was done by a so called ‘friend’ with my existing cards. He also stole cash from me. He probably assumed since I had a TBI I would be none the wiser.

    Unfortunately, my ending wasn’t so clean cut. It’s a long story for another day. Maybe via email. Hugs to you for being so strong!! Eva

    • StrokeFighter May 25, 2015 / 3:30 am

      We both work hard! Yep, we are definitely rockstars!

      It makes me angry that people steal from sick people. I’m sorry that happened to you.

      I’m still battling to get my credit cleared up. The State of Georgia doesn’t handle that task. Luckily, I have documented proof of the fraud so it makes it easier. Recently, my husband and I signed up for LifeLock so hopefully this won’t happen again.

      Hugs,
      Megan

  3. My Miracle Life May 29, 2015 / 5:51 am

    Good for you! Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. You can bypass the rules if you like and just post the Award on your sidebar. We can do it, because we’re rebels like that! πŸ˜€ You were my first nominee because, well, you’re a rock star. The post is here: http://wp.me/p4xX1Z-cI

    Bigger hugs. Eva

Leave a Reply

