Typical Schedule

When I was discharged from day-neuro on Sept 26 2014, many adjustments had to be made. Since we were down to one car, we got a small truck for Ricky. Through all the painful car searches, we both got nice vehicles. Next, we had to make the decision about where to attend speech therapy. I wanted to make sure that I got the best help possible. After doing some googling, I found Achieve Hearing & Rehab. The fact that they had both an audiologist and speech therapist lead me to them. As mentioned in my previous blog posts, I’ve been very pleased with my experience there. Ricky does a great job helping me. He makes a great part-time speech therapist. Of course, Gizmo always has to interfere with my practice.

ricky speech

The first two months were so hard after being discharged. I’ve always had a goal-oriented mindset so not having a schedule was about to make me go insane. I only had exercise for entertainment. Eventually, my schedule picked up when I started attending speech therapy twice a week and participating in community reintegration via classes. I still have moments of loneliness during the day. I could go to a support group but it just doesn’t interest me.

Usually, I go to bed at 3:00 AM and get up about noon. Some would call my schedule crazy but it helps me deal with loneliness. Sundays are reserved for studying at home. I practice social reintegration with a class on Monday night. I have speech therapy on Tues and Wed. Most of my week is spent in Plano and Rockwall YMCA. In the wee hours of the morning, I’m  practicing my self-therapy (i.e. BrainBuilder or iPad Apps). Unless it’s one of my speech therapy days, I wake up at noon and pickup the house and workout.

For all those rehab professionals that told me that I would eventually stop making progress, I’m still making progress! I’ve accomplished the following things: long vowel recognition, short vowel recognition, and long vowel placement. Next, we are going to work on short vowel placement which I have a phobia of. I worked on this topic with my old speech therapist and I always had problems understanding the difference in the e and sounds; such as the difference of sound in pen and pin.

My speech therapist wants me to work on my confidence. Confidence problems are common for stroke survivors. On top of the confidence loss that would result from a stroke, I was treated so bad since my stroke. My confidence is going to be the biggest challenge for me.

2 thoughts on “Typical Schedule

  1. Tammy Hairston March 6, 2015 / 1:33 pm

    Happy about your progress! Thank you for this blog. I love being able to follow you and hear about how you are doing. We are praying for you and always thinking of you. Love you both.
    Tammy, Shane and Caleb

  2. linda wilemon March 10, 2015 / 1:53 pm

    You and Ricky make a great team. Ricky has been there from day one fighting for you and your recovery. I am so proud of you both. I will start praying for your confidence. I have my mother daughter rings on my finger and I told the Lord by faith I am wearing these to believe in your healing and recovery. I know you will give 200% to improving yourself and searching that is
    how you have always been. People need to think twice before they treat someone different because of a sickness. God Bless my family and other stroke victims. It is a long hard battle you have to face day to day. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

