New Routine

Things have finally settled down for my new life/routine. Luckily, I’ve been busy this past week. I can’t stand sitting at the house; it depresses me.

My new schedule involves lots of commuting. I drive to Plano four times a week. I’m putting lots of miles on our Corolla. Luckily, it gets 41 mpg on the highway. I attend speech therapy twice a week and a class twice a week. I go to the ymca to workout multiple times a week. I’m working my ass off to get back to my pre-stroke condition.

The transition to my new speech therapy is going well. They specialize in audiological processing. I get more individualized attention than my previous rehab. My previous rehab had too many patients and I wasn’t give much attention. After each session, a homework assignment is given and a voice mail is left for Ricky to explain what I accomplished. In my first session, my new therapist told me that I was brilliant. It’s nice to work with people that will try to build me up. I’m not used to it! My new speech therapist is going to push and challenge me.

It’s funny how the brain heals itself. I’m getting better everyday.  I cannot believe how many obstacles were placed before me over the course of my stroke. My husband and I were discussing the obstacles and road blocks recently. Eventually, something has to give. Not knowing what lies ahead is stressful for me. I always had my life planned and followed the rules. I made good grades in high school and college. I had a successful career. What lies ahead, I’m not sure. When I’m 100%, my goal is to return to work for a company that will appreciate my previous experience and work ethic.

Just for fun, check out our selfies. My husband is more photogenic than me.

us ricky

4 thoughts on “New Routine

  1. I’m so glad you are getting the rehab you need and you are doing better. Stick to your goals. I know you will! Love you both
    Tammy

  2. You have always worked hard at everything you do every since you were in kindergarden.As a mother I wished I could take away what has happen to you at such a young age. You make such a cute couple. The Lord has put you two together and your love for one another is strong. I pray everyday for you and Ricky. I am glad also you and Ricky kept searching and finally found out that you needed hearing aids and a good therpaist that has the knowledge to work with your rare case. I thank my blessings all the time that I have my precious daughter and Ricky in my life. I am so glad your brain is healing everyday.However gets you as an employee someday will get a hard worker that takes pride in her work. Wish Year 2015 brings healing and blessings!
    Love,
    Mom

  3. What a beautiful couple you are! Keep that positive attitude and you’ll kick butt at rehab. I know more PT is in the cards for me as soon as I see my rehab doctor next week. I’m okay with that. Next month, God willing, will be six months seizure free and I can ask my neurologist to clear me to drive. I haven’t driven since the bleed, but I’m so ready to practice! Best of luck, and I’m always in your corner! Love, Eva

Leave a Reply

