Nothing

I titled this blog Nothing. That’s what I do everyday now :-).

I was released from rehab a few weeks ago and I have no schedule. Right now, I sleep late every day, perform housework, do my own therapy on my iPad, and workout. Although some people would love to have no responsibility, it’s depressing. It’s hard for me. I don’t feel productive or that I’m contributing to society.

Luckily, I have my own car now so I have more independence.  Ricky got a small pickup and I took over the Corolla.

I am very luckily. Ricky always took care of the grocery shopping and cooking; however, I need things to do to fill up my day so I took over that responsibility. I’m cooking now. I’m on a protein shake kick right now.  I’m trying to incorporate healthy food into my diet.

I NEVER pictured myself as a trophy wife :-).

Soon, I’m hoping to have a busy schedule. I will start speech therapy in Plano soon. We are waiting on approval from our health insurance. I’m excited about my new speech therapist. She will provide homework assignments after every therapy session. Ricky will be more involved in my therapy. I’m ready for the new challenges.

3 thoughts on “Nothing

  1. Hi! I’m sure you’re going to be much busier once your speech therapy starts. Since you independent enough to drive, have you considered volunteering for a few hours at a local hospital’s stroke recovery/neurological unit? It would be great therapy and you’d also be giving back to the community.

    My stroke was hemorrhagic in nature and during brain surgery, I suffered an ischemic one as well. One of the side effects was seizures. I need to be seizure free for six months in order to be able to drive again. Unfortunately, it seems that every time I get close to the six month mark, I have one and I’m back to square one. Another six month window is coming up in January; I’m keeping my fingers crossed. 🙂 I’m cooking a little bit more. Since I live alone now, I need to be careful and put timers and alarms on so I don’t walk away and forget that something’s on the stove.

    Have a great day! Eva

    • Hello Eva,
      My rehab suggested that I seek out volunteer opportunities. However, I am receiving LTD in addition to SSDI. Based on the research I performed online, participating in such activities could jeopardize my LTD. Therefore, I am going to lay-low and not participate in such activities.

      I had a nonhemorrhagic stroke which resulted in a rare condition called auditory agnosia. Luckily, I am very independent; however, I’ve traveled down a long, hard road. It has been 14 months since my stroke but I continue to improve everyday.

      I still haven’t heard from my health insurance about my speech therapy. It has been 6 weeks since I’ve had ANY therapy. My speech therapist is supposed to call my health insurance tomorrow to request status. I’m not good at being patient. 🙂

      January is very close. I’m hoping that you meet your goal of driving soon. 🙂

  2. Challenges are what make us stronger and what keeps us going, remember rhere is no such thing as a small step, every single one is a large achievement as it gets us where we want to be,, xxxx

Leave a Reply

