Stroke Anniversary

Tomorrow will mark the first anniversary of my stroke. After my stroke, my whole world was flipped upside down. This year has flown by and my world now consists of rehabbing. In the beginning of my stroke, I was unable to walk, talk, or hear. I’ve made significant progress. I can walk faster than anyone that I know. I regained my ability to speak. My hearing is getting better. The progress that I’ve made is due to my strong work ethic. Still, I want more. I want to be 100% again.

However, I’ve had to face many hardships outside the rehab process. I lost my 9 year career. I’ll spare the negative details about how heartbroken I am. I started taking anti-depressants to deal with my anxiety and grief. Financially, we’ve had to make hard adjustments. We refinanced our home, sold my car, traded in Ricky’s truck for an economical car, and switched electric carriers.

For the future, I’m hopeful.  In the beginning of my stroke, I had an evaluation from an audiologist who stated that I had normal hearing. As proof of this fact, she stated that I had normal scores on an audiogram. After recent research, I found out that an audiogram is only one piece of the puzzle. An audiologist is supposed to use an audiogram in combination with a speech recognition threshold test.  Recently, to get another opinion, Ricky took me to a different audiologist. The new audiologist stated the obvious: I DON’T have normal hearing. My speech recognition threshold level is VERY low. As a result of the latest audiological evaluation, I was cleared for hearing aids. I have an appointment with my audiologist soon to decide the best type of hearing aids to use for my condition. I’m hoping that the hearing aids will make significant improvement in my recovery. Previously, to understand speech, I was taught to utilize speech reading (lip reading).

Here are my goals:

1. Stay active and get in the best shape that I can. I’ve lost more than 20 pounds this year. However, I do wonder what effect the anti-depressant will play on my metabolism and appetite. I plan to monitor my weight and talk to my doctors to determine my options if my weight increases.

2. Keep my programming skills active. I’ve looked at some courses at Collin County Junior College that would be interesting.

3. Keep active in my rehab process until I’m 100% again. I  will find another job that will appreciate my strong work ethic.

My speech therapist told me that I have a Type A personality. I like task lists and goals!

3 thoughts on “Stroke Anniversary

  1. Megan,
    The progress you and God have made is miraculous to say the very least. Although it doesn’t surprise me about you, it still leaves me amazed. As far as your job, well I know that stings because you worked hard and dedicated yourself to be where you were. Our plans aren’t always God’s plans. I know you know that but there is a much bigger picture there than we can even see. He will reward you for all your hard work. I know it. I love you both and I am praying for His healing, mercy and grace to pour onto you and fill you with the Spirit to guide you and lead you onto what He has for you. You two are always in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs to you 🙂

    Tammy Hairston

  2. Megan,
    I am so proud of you. How hard you have worked at getting better. You have always worked hard at everything you set your mind to every since you were a little girl. You have grown into a strong woman who doesn’t give up.
    Everyday I pray for God to heal you and thank him for what he has done. You want the best for your children and
    I love you both. I know God will supply and cares about our needs. I pray someday that he will give you the desire of
    your heart to go back to work where they appreciate you. They will get a good one when they hire you!
    I have the best daughter and son-in-law there is. MOM

  3. Megan- your recovery is such an amazing testimony to our Lord’s healing power. You are truly one of the strongest and most driven woman I know!

Leave a Reply

