Recovery and Progressing

I have great SPLs that I work with everyday. I work with Lynnea, Heather, and Abigail. They are all very helpful to me and have helped me make good progress.

I’ve had a few tests ran over the past weeks. The first test was on October 11. My neurosurgeon took some scans of my brain. Luckily, I got great news. The clot in my brain is healing and my brain is re-routing. On October 17, I had an appointment with my rheumatoid. I have a form of borderline lupus which causes my skin to blotchy in my arms and legs; however, nothing needs to be done about it. My stroke was caused by a combination of the following: reversible CVS, running in the sun, birth control, cholesterol, and stress.

To prevent another stroke, I have to change my lifestyle. Pate has a dietitian coming very soon to help me learn how to eat healthy.  In addition, they have me doing biofeedback which promotes relaxation. It helps relieve a number of conditions related to stress. They have me doing various exercises such as deep breathing. I realize how stress can ends a person’s life. My dad’s twin, Kenny, died from at 50 from a heart-attack due to stress.

There are different types of aphasia. My aphasia prevents me from understanding what other people are saying. I’ve noticed that I’m able to speak with more sentence structure now. I can understand some people more than others. My understanding has gotten better with time. To enhance my conversation skills, my SPLs have me talking various people every few days. There is another guy whose about 40 at Pate. His aphasia is different than mine. He understands everything that is said to him. However, he has a hard time speaking certain words. It’s so hard for me because I used to love listening to music and it is a challenge now.

My discharge date from Pate is in January. I’m very motivated to get us much help as possible from my SPLs. My ultimate goal is returning to work. However, at this time, I’m not sure when that will happen. Luckily, our company provides LTD so we are okay for now.

Ricky is going to start recording some of the tasks we perform at home. I know my mom, dad, and family would like to see this.

My schedule has been updated with more challenging tasks lately. My schedule consists of the following:

  • 9:00 – conversations with staff or paperwork
  • 10:00 – speech time with Lynnea or Heather
  • 10:30 – treadmill to promote endurance
  • 11:00 – Sanet Vision Integrator – This cool program is ran on a TV. It calls out numbers, letters, words and tests my reaction time.
  • 11:30 – Lunch
  • 12:00 – Direction Following
  • 12:30 – Social Group
  • 1:00 – Aphasia Tutor Level 3
  • 1:30 – VMR Level 3 – This will help me regain my driving skills.
  • 2:00 – iPad App – Idioms
  • 2:30 – iPad App – Recall what I hear
  • 3:00 – speech time with Abigail
3 thoughts on “Recovery and Progressing

  1. Cathy Martin November 5, 2013 / 12:06 am

    Hi Megan, this is Cathy from work and I want to tell you how much we miss you! You are an inspiration to all of us. Keep up the good work and we will see you soon! Much love to you!

    Cathy

  2. Ashley Cappelli November 5, 2013 / 2:33 am

    Megan- thank you for sharing so openly about your progress, therapy, and struggles. You’re such a strong woman! I have no doubt with all your hard work, you’ll be driving and back to work in time. We love y’all!

  3. meganrachellewhitaker November 18, 2013 / 3:07 am

    Cathy – Thank you! I look forward to seeing you guys soon!
    Ashley – Thank you! Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

